Wed. Jul 8th, 2020

Everything you need to know about the Sony PlayStation 5 reveal event

If you're ready for the next-generation of console gaming, Sony is ready to provide.

Sony is set to kick off the next generation of video game consoles with the reveal of a bunch of goodies at its PlayStation 5 event.

While we’re not sure if the event will just feature the games we can expect to see on the console or information about the hardware itself, we’ll be tuned in live to take in every minute of next-generation gaming excitement. Could we find out the exact specs of the device? Perhaps Sony will reveal the price? We’ll know soon enough.

When is the PS5 event?

Sony plans to go live at 1PM PT (4PM ET, 9PM BST). The event is scheduled to run for one hour. We’d expect that runtime to be very accurate, the event is pre-recorded.

How to watch the PlayStation 5 event

We have the YouTube stream embedded for easy viewing at the top of the post, but that’s not the only way to tune in and see what we can expect from the PS5.

For fans of Twitch, Twitch.tv/PlayStation is the place to find the stream of today’s big event. For YouTube, the embedded video above or YouTube.com/PlayStation are the places to go.

Is there a 4K stream?

Interestingly, according to The Verge, Sony has chosen to broadcast its event in 1060p at 30fps, which seems like a rather odd choice considering most of the game it’s showing off should be in 4K on the PlayStation 5.

Learn more about the PlayStation 5 right here!